Migrate to Subify from Recharge

Step by step guide on how to migrate your subscriptions from Recharge to Subify, if you are using Shopify Payment.

Updated over a week ago

To migrate your subscriptions from Recharge to Subify, we just need you to provide us with prevalidated Recharge exports. Our migration experts will help you throughout the process of importing your previous data and setting up your subscriptions in Subify with as little impact on your existing subscribers as possible.


Payment methods

The payment method of your existing subscriptions can affect the migration process. First, you must ensure that your customers are using one of Shopify’s eligible subscription payment processors.

Shopify Payments:

  • If the payments are already using Shopify payments, we are good to proceed.

Stripe:

If you are using the Stripe payment method, please read this article first and proceed with the initial steps.

Other custom checkouts:

If you are using custom checkouts for your payments, you should contact Recharge and request to convert your payments to Shopify payments.

Otherwise, we are unable to migrate your existing subscriptions that are created through custom checkouts to Subify.


Pre-Migration Steps

Before migrating any data over, you must make sure that all 5 pre-migration steps have been done:

  1. Install Subify

    You can install Subify from this link.

  2. Recreate all your current subscription plans on Subify

    After recreating your subscription plans on Subify, please place a test order and make sure Subify's functionality matches your requirements and the customer experience you have in mind.
    Read this article for more information on getting started with Subify.

  3. Disable Recharge Widget

    This ensures that your store continues operating throughout the migration process, allowing all new subscribers to flow through Subify and eliminating the possibility of missing customers during the data pull from your old platform.

    Here's how you can disable the Recharge widget:

    1. From the Recharge merchant portal, click Storefront and select the Subscription widget.

    2. On the subscription widget settings page, click Unpublish the subscription widget.

  4. Delete your subscription rules on Recharge

    1. From the Recharge app, Select Products.

    2. Select all the products.

    2. From the actions, click on Remove from Recharge. (This button will delete the product from Recharge, and it will no longer display in Products or Collections. It will not impact existing customers who are subscribed to the product.)

  5. Give our migration team collaborator access to your store

    Share your store's request code with us, so that our team can send collaborator access to your store for migration.

Do not uninstall Recharge until all subscriptions have been migrated.


Migration process:

Our migration team will export your data from Recharge and take care of the migration.

If there are no errors regarding your data, the migration process will be completed up to ~24 hours to complete. You will be notified when the migration is fully done.

At any point, if there are any questions, please reach out to our support team.


Post Migration Steps

Once the migration process is complicated, make sure you do the following 3 post-migration steps:

  1. Check your migrated subscriptions on Subify

    Request an export from the subscriptions tab of Subify and check your migrated subscription data. (If you only have a few subscriptions, you can check them directly from the subscription tab.):

  2. Cancel all your subscriptions on Recharge

    1. In the Recharge app, select the Subscriptions tab.

    2. For each active subscription, click the Actions drop-down and select Cancel:

    4. Provide a cancellation reason, choose if you want to send a cancellation email, and select Next.

    Any active subscriptions associated with the address will display as an option to be canceled. Check the box for all subscriptions you’d like to cancel and click Cancel subscription to confirm.

  3. Cancel your Recharge account

    We suggest deleting your account in Recharge, because subscription apps might have the ability to read other apps' selling plans and create subscription contracts in their own service.

    Here's how you can cancel your Recharge account:

    1. In the Recharge app, click on Settings.

    2. Select Store and then Cancel my account:

    cancel_account_from_store_settings.png

    3. Fill out the cancellation survey and then click on the Cancel my account button. A confirmation will appear that your account has been canceled:

    cancellation_survey.png

Did this answer your question?